Contemporary Medical Acupuncture Program

Neurofunctional Treatment of Pain with Movement Disorders

About our Program

About our Program

The McMaster Contemporary Medical Acupuncture Program is a University-based continuing education program designed for qualified health professionals interested in integrating Contemporary Medical Acupuncture (Neurofunctional Acupuncture, Electroacupuncture) into their practices.

Program Mission Statement

Our mission is to train selected health care professionals in the use of Contemporary Medical Acupuncture (Neurofunctional Acupuncture, Electroacupuncture) for the treatment of musculoskeletal pain and movement disorders, sports injuries, functional problems, problems of dysregulation, headaches, stress-related disorders, chronic pain, etc., through high quality, accelerated Continuing Education programs.

Program History

Medical Acupuncture was first introduced at McMaster University in 1984 by Dr. Angelica Fargas-Babjak with the creation of the Acupuncture/Pain Clinic, an integral part of the McMaster multidisciplinary Pain Management Program created to help chronic pain patients from a multidisciplinary approach.

In 1995, Dr. Alejandro Elorriaga Claraco, MD (Spain) joined the Acupuncture/Pain clinic and started a long term professional collaboration with Dr. Angelica Fargas-Babjak with the primary goal of making high quality training in Medical Acupuncture available to selected health care professionals.

In 1998, the first McMaster University accelerated training program in Contemporary Medical Acupuncture for Health Professionals was launched. Since then, over 1,900 professionals from over twenty different countries have already benefited from these high quality programs. The program’s graduating alumnus include health care professionals from the following countries listed in alphabetical order:

  • 1 Argentina
  • 1 Argentina
  • 2 Australia
  • 3 Bermuda
  • 4 Brazil
  • 5 Canada
  • 6 Cayman Islands
  • 7 Cuba
  • 8 England
  • 9 Iran
  • 10 Ireland
  • 11 Mexico
  • 12 Netherlands
  • 13 Norway
  • 14 Panama
  • 15 Portugal
  • 16 Saudi Arabia
  • 17 South Korea
  • 18 Spain
  • 19 Sweden
  • 20 Switzerland
  • 21 United Arab Emirates
  • 22 United States of America (USA)
  • 23 West Indies